Historic Preservation

The City of Ithaca passed the Landmarks Preservation Ordinance (Chapter 228 of the City Code) in 1971. The ordinance established the Ithaca Landmarks Preservation Commission (ILPC) and led to designation of the city's first local Historic District: DeWitt Park. The ILPC preserves and protects physical reminders of Ithaca's history ― those visual characteristics that make our city unique, identifiable, and familiar to both residents and visitors. There are seven Historic Districts and numerous individual landmarks. To learn more about historic preservation and the ILPC, please visit the Ithaca Landmarks Preservation Commission (ILPC) page.