Commons Advisory Board

Regular meetings are held on the first Friday of each month at 8:30 a.m. in Common Council Chambers, 3rd Floor, City Hall, 108 E. Green Street, Ithaca, NY 14850.
    Agendas & Minutes
    Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
    Most Recent Agenda | Minutes

    Overview & Duties
    The Commons Advisory Board oversees the activities that occur on the Ithaca Commons (Ithaca’s downtown pedestrian mall) including entertainment events, outdoor dining, mobile vending, signs, planters, merchandise displays, use of amplified sound and other activities that require permits from the City.  They review and advise City staff on issues such as signs, landscaping, lighting, public & private construction, renovation & rehabilitation of building facades and open spaces, general maintenance and repair issues, traffic movement and parking, maintenance of order, and artwork.

    More information on Commons Advisory Board


    • Kristin A. Lewis, Chair
      Term expires: December 31, 2016
    • Michael Perehinec
       Term expires: December 31, 2016
    • Nancy Brooks
       Term expires: December 31, 2016
    • Joseph Wetmore
       Term expires: December 31, 2016
    • Tim Gray
       Term expires: December 31, 2017
    • Vacancy
      Term expires: December 31, 2017

    • Rob Gearhart, Common Council Liaison
      Indefinite Term
    • Julie Conley Holcomb, City Clerk
      Term expires: Indefinite
    • Gary Ferguson, Executive Director,
      Downtown Ithaca Alliance
      Term expires: Indefinite
    • Michael Thorne, Superintendent of Public Works
      Term expires: Indefinite